Home Page

Assessment at Lyndhurst

End of Key Stage Assessment

Maintained schools in England are legally required to follow the statutory national curriculum which sets out subject content for those subjects that should be taught to all pupils.


We have been following the New National Curriculum since September 2014.


What is different?


  • The Curriculum is more demanding in core areas like Maths.


  • Levels (e.g. 2a, 2b, 2c) have been removed.


  • New end of key stage tests, aligned with the new curriculum will be introduced in summer 2016.


  • At the end of Year 2, children will sit SATs in Reading and Maths and for the first time there will be a paper combining English grammar, spelling and punctuation.


  • At the end of Year 6, children will sit SATs in Reading, English grammar, punctuation and spelling and Maths.


  • Writing will still be teacher assessed. As before there are three Maths papers at the end of KS2. The mental maths test has been replaced with an arithmetic test. There will 2 papers on reasoning.


  • The end of KS1 and KS2 SATs tests will be marked against a scaled score.  Your child will be given a score in relation to the average and this will indicate whether they have attained above or below the expected level. 


What hasn’t changed?


  • Our curriculum is still creative, broad and balanced.


  • Teacher assessments will still be used to build up a picture of your child’s learning and achievements.


  • Not all children in Year 6 will take Science SATs. However a number of schools will be required to take part in science sampling. Schools will be notified of selection in the Spring or Summer term.


  • When talking about your child’s attainment we will continue to use language such as ‘below’ ‘working towards’ ‘at’ or ‘above’ the expectation for their age.